Best Glasses of Spring Anime 2016

Screenshot (483).png

You knew this was coming. It was inevitable. I mean, my current name on Twitter is “GlassesLoverN64”. Now, I know this all seems like some sort of gag, but let me assure you that my love of nearsightedness is no laughing matter. Of course, personality always comes first. That I would not deny. However, in my research I have found significant correlations between the glasses to cuteness, and glasses to endearment ratios that provide striking evidence to support my thesis. Glasses>Not Glasses. It’s a fact, damn it. And now without further ado, here are the best characters with glasses of the 2016 spring anime season.

Shiraishi from Tanaka-kun is Always Listless

Screenshot (480).png

Oh, Shiraishi. You’re feelings toward Tanaka are adorable, if not ill-founded, but I love you anyway. I’ve always had a soft spot for characters that actually try, characters that try so hard to be the person everyone wants them to be that they start to lose sight of who they really are. It’s then that a certain protagonist comes along that accepts the reality behind the persona, earning them the reluctant compassion of the said character. Shiraishi was so far gone that she decided wearing contacts would make her more likeable. Can you believe that? Contacts! Ugh, so gross. Luckily, Tanaka unintendedly brought some sense, and some love, into her nearsighted world, giving us yet another glasses donning character to adore.

Honoka Maki from Kiznaiver

Screenshot (387)

Have you been watching Kiznaiver this season? If not, what the hell’s wrong with you? It’s great, and it has TWO awesome glasses wearing characters, the first being Honoka Maki. At the time of me writing this, we’re only just diving into her backstory and really getting to know her as a character. She interests me greatly, and only 25% of that interest is due to her glasses. Honoka has an odd, somewhat dark sense of humor. I’d use examples, but I feel they might be spoiler-ish, so I’ll refrain for now. She also has some skeletons in her closet, and it’s supposedly this that causes her to distance herself from the others. Hopefully by the end of her little story arc we will truly understand what her deal is, and she can finally feel like part of the group.

Hajime Tenga from Kiznaiver

Screenshot (468)

I’ve talked about Tenga before, but I’d like to retread what I said again. Tenga is Kamina from Gurren Lagann, except I don’t hate him. I actually kinda adore him. Sure, he’s a bit of a brute, but he’s nowhere near the level of asinine that Kamina was on. Kamina was an undeserved leader and a truly terrible role model that only offered one lesson that would prove to be his undoing: Never give up. It’s a fine motto, but you’re going to need more than that to be an interesting or likeable character. What does this have to do with Tenga? Nothing. I just really hate Kamina. But perhaps I should save that for another post. Anyway, Tenga is great because he’s much more down to earth and doesn’t have his head all the way up his own ass. Tenga has fears and doubts and a sensitive side that I would love to see more of. Also, he’s probably in love with Chidori.

Doppo Kunikida from Bungo Stray Dogs

Screenshot (381)

I don’t think I’ve seen many dudes with ponytails in anime. There’s Ling Yao from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood and uh…that’s all I got. Comment if you know anymore. But anyway, it’s not his ponytail that makes Kunikida so cool. It’s his glasses. And also his fighting style and personality, I guess. Kunikida is particularly adept at fighting even though his power could be hypothetically squashed just by taking his book away. Still, he keeps Dazai in check and seems to be the most well put together person in the agency, although that may not be saying much.

Secretary from Space Patrol Luluco

Screenshot (484)

Shout out to the secretary of Space Patrol Luluco. Sure she has no lines, but she probably puts up with more bullshit than any other character in anime ever. Plus she looks good in glasses.

Screenshot (482)

And that’s my list. Feel free to comment on any characters I missed this season. Also, tell me how you feel about glasses and who your favorite glasses wearing character of all time is. Thanks for reading, and come back next week to learn more about why Kamina sucks.

3 thoughts on “Best Glasses of Spring Anime 2016

  1. I feel like a failure for not remembering the fact that Tenga also has glasses. When you said two glasses wearing characters in Kiznaiver I was kind of confused at first, but then confusion turned into embarrassment the moment I scrolled down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

